Honest feedback : Forum : Will Review for Spare Change

[reply] [quote]

Will Review for Spare Change

7 Years Ago

Hello, all. Newbie here. Would love to get some honest feedback on a book I've just written. It's a murder mystery set mostly in a psychiatric hospital. Here's the first chapter:

One                  I must protest that neither I nor the hospital could have foreseen that a patient was going to be murdered, so it is unreasonable to hold us responsible. Yes. Yes, I understand I am under oath and sworn to tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth throughout this deposition. Okay, yes, I’ll answer your questions now. Okay, yes, I will begin on the Friday before. The first thing to understand is that I had five patients on the inpatient mental health unit when the death occurred. All five were unfortunately involved to some extent. On Friday, two of the patients were already on the unit. One was Mark Stangler, a seventy two year old male with a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s and the other was Billy Stanton, a twenty-eight year old male in recovery from a methamphetamine addiction. I admitted the third patient on Friday, Francisco Flores. He actually arrived on the unit late in the afternoon, so I didn’t meet him until Saturday morning. No, no, all we knew is that Francisco was thought to be a danger to himself. No, we didn’t learn he was Salvadoran or in the country illegally until later.