Literary Criticism And Discussion : Forum : Fantasy

[send message][befriend] Subscribe
<Closed>
[reply] [quote]

Fantasy

14 Years Ago

Yo, i'm a fantasy writer myself, and was wondering if  anyone is interested in an active discussion about fantasy and aspects of it.
I haven't written for long, and was hoping i could help expand my writing by comparing, suggesting, and all around discussion with others.
[reply] [quote]

Re: Fantasy

14 Years Ago

I am very much up to discussing anything to do with writing.  Pick a subject and let's go.
<Closed>
[reply] [quote]

14 Years Ago

Anything about Fantasy!  go ahead and say something you thought was cool in someone's work, or something in your own writing that you think is cool how it turned out. you start it, and it'll go from there.

[reply] [quote]

14 Years Ago

Okay, let's start with creating a world.  I have one book that is almost complete, and the world that I created there was easy since I have kept the talk of it to a minimum.  Things that come from the real world into this world tend to change in time.  A mule is a unicorn, vampires can stand in the sunlight, but at the same time if someone from the other world stays too long they tend to change from what they were in the other world. I have another book planned that my son is helping me with, in that one we are creating an entire world and all the aspects of it. The hardest thing is to work out the details when it comes to why.  Most fantasy readers are highly intelligent, and they want to know or understand.  If you change a color or description of a familiar item that is easy but if something is significantly different they want to understand why.  To say a crop takes nine months to grow, why.  If a group of nomads must migrate regularly, what drives it.  You said that you are still new to the writing, have you dealt with creating a whole world or just changing the one that we are in?
<Closed>
[reply] [quote]

14 Years Ago