The Review Club : Forum : New Guy

New Guy

16 Years Ago

Hello one and all,

First I want to thank Rob for keeping me in mind. I have reviewed and been reviewed by some in this group back on urbis and so I am familiar with some of the group, work, and styles.

Now, a little about me. I have been a closet writer since I was about 14 years old. My main degree is in Architectural Engineering, with a minor in journalism, and I had a few shorts and poems published back in college, but that was too many years ago to remember them without dragging them from my trunk of musings. Yes, I actually have a trunk.

Over the years, my family and mundane career took center stage and my writing was a hobby more or less, writing a page here and there, a chapter, a story, a poem, something, when ever time permitted and the house was quiet. Not until after 911 did something snap in me that drove me to consider writing seriously. Since 2002, I have been working on a series of high fantasy fictional stories. In 2003, I even got an agents interest in the first book. But, after a year, she could not sell, because I had too many issues with grammar, structure, passive voice and POV. Still, I learned alot about the submission process, got great rejection letters from some of the bigger publishing houses in which the story was pointed out as being very worthwhile. With suggestions from Ms. Kraass, (who is now retired), I have been able to clean up many of the issues. But not until the last year, taking some on line courses, reading a multitude of books, and the reviews on urbis did the light bulb begin to come on. Donald Maass even hand pinned a rejection letter last year in which he noted, "Nick, you're getting closer." Now I know that does not say much, and its only the query process, but I am either wearing him down, or my query letters are getting better.