World Building : Forum : Hello Little Draken

Introduce yourselves(DRAKEN)

15 Years Ago

I think Draken are newly born dragons, or if they are not, I now say that they are. Draken symbolizes all new members of this group. Don't be shy. Introduce yourself so that we'll get to know you better.

I myself am an avid reader and a writer. I enjoy a good book, especially if I'm sitting in a nice plush couch with freezing coffee at my side. Haha...it's one of my vices. There, see, you now know one of my weaknesses. What's yours?

[no subject]

15 Years Ago

Hi!  I'm relatively new to writerscafe in general.  My weakness is definately fantasy and science fiction, but it's also joined with me being very critical of fantasy and sci-fi authors, and I therefore don't think there are very many good ones out there.

I've written a short story called The Black Waltz set in a world that I'm creating.  I run a D&D campaign in that world and I'm working on a novel set there.  The biggest roadblock I've run into is how to make the world unique and not just another Middle Earth or Forgotten Realms.

[no subject]

15 Years Ago

Yeah...I think I've read your story. It was actually one of the first stories I've reviewed here. The Blighted and the Flawless. I liked the story line a lot. I do get what you mean about SF and F authors. Let me just say that I liked definitely a lot more authors four years ago than I do now.

Haha...either I've become pickier on what I like...or writers have become less imaginative in general.

[no subject]

15 Years Ago

Hello, i'm very new to writer's cafe.  Just signed up and wanted to network with more people.  I like a bunch of different genre's but i really like fantasy and science fiction so I thought I'd join up with this group.

unfortunately my reading lists is really shallow, i've always liked the genre but haven't taken the initiative to really look into many books until recently. any suggestions on some must reads for these genres?