A Stream Of Consciousness : Forum : Survey

[reply] [quote]

Survey

15 Years Ago

Hi! My name is Donni and I am a newbie to both this site and to writing.  I've dabbled in it but never more that dipping my toe in. Now I've plunged into the deep end and am going for it!

I have enjoyed the interact with other authors here and one dialog that I've had with one has got me thinking. Long-story-short: The other author shared that when they've created angst, rant poetry their ratings went up and the viewing of their work was much higher than when he wrote inspirational, higher consciousness pieces. Being too knew to this I don't have much to draw from- but being a certified Pollyanna I find myself asking "Really?" So it is time to put the question out there: What is your preference? I am not going to do this survey with parameters, I'll let this be a free flow- what's your viewpoint?
[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

15 Years Ago

Hello Donni,

In response to your letter where you discuss the great education in

writing from authorities in the Cafe, let me be the first to say----Bull !

When I first came here one of the first encounters was a learned person

who tore apart a friend`s writing and had that person in tears.  He proceeded

to "teach" her how to write.

What the authority did not realize, or chose not to notice, was this friend of

mine was an accomplished writer before she ever came here.

The authority who attempted to teach her how to write has long ago left the

scene.

My friend later became about the most respected writer in Cafe, also at times

giving advice to neophytes.

Me ?  My part in this ?   I have tried to be a friend to beginners.  I do not write

well.  I am overly simplistic and dedicated to "A Stream of Consciousness".

My advice :   Write what you feel, when you feel it.  If you need it edited, you

can always call on the foot soldiers of writing, us.

Respectfully,

------- Eagle Cruagh

[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

15 Years Ago