Internet Access: The Writer's Tools To Being Read. : Forum : The irony of democratic publis..

[send message][befriend] Subscribe
Al
[reply] [quote]

The irony of democratic publishing

16 Years Ago

[color=indigo][/color]I think that it's great that anyone can upload a work of writing, whether it be a novel, a poem, a work of non-fiction, and so on. I have submitted work to publishers that has been published; I've been asked to conduct interviews which have been published; I've submitted novels which have been rejected; I've 'uploaded' fiction on sites with no requirements other than a computer and on-line access. I've also been a fiction and non-fiction editor of a 'zine.'

Dustin Hoffman once said there were so many acting classes because actors did not have a chance to actually act in a play/film for which they auditioned. The same may be said of writing classes, and the same may be said for uploading work without a 'gatekeeper.' The latter is fine. But to 'advance' as a writer, I think one needs to submit one's work to someone who is a bit more knowledgeable about writing than oneself. Otherwise, how can you grow as a writer? And this strategy is exactly what happens when a person who is 'new' at writing submits a work to a publication that is selective. It's not that relevant whether a person likes or doesn't like your 'style' or 'subject matter.' So long as s/he knows writing, one can get helpful feedback. And as for the remark, "Why should I think an editor 'knows' writing if s/he didn't want to publish my work," I'd say that that remark can very likely be a cop out.
[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

16 Years Ago

You have a point, that work should be approved by peers before publishing, but if Shakespeare saw what passes for poetry with this so called free verse, I think he'd never have bothered to have written a word!

Chances are, hed never have been published if he were around today!
[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

16 Years Ago