The Wood Beyond The World : Forum : Revision

Revision

16 Years Ago

Adam brought it up, and Scribble and Bill have already commented in the character development thread, but I think it deserves a thread of its own.

I'm living the agony of major revision right now. Have been for some time. It's as great an undertaking as writing a complete first draft.

I revise constantly even in that so-called first draft -- sentences mostly. I insist on getting each sentence right, and re-read frequently. Even major revising still incorporates sentence revision, word-choice, etc. I have a harder time with chapters. Mostly the story needs to be written, and it pours out pretty quickly, and chapters end when it seems convenient. I've tried to set myself a limit of 3000 words per chapter since I completed the first draft of True Minds, with it's overblown 7000 word (and more) chapters. If I have to go a bit longer or shorter I don't mind, however. I'm not very good with structure -- I like to leave it for last, in a way. Get the story out, then tweak and cut and rearrange as necessary. I never really thought about making each chapter perform in a certain way, but Bill's mentioned that so often that I'm giving the concept some attention now.

[no subject]

16 Years Ago

I know what you are talking about, Leah! Based on reviews last year on my first two completed volumes, I saw a major problem. The POVs changed from chapter to chapter (which was necessary) but they started to sound the same, in a weird way.

So I decided to break-up the narrative into sections, each one focusing on one specific POV,. Which has lead to major headaches, heartaches and beating my head against the wall.

It is difficult to go back to your baby. Even with the comments from reviewers here and on urbis, I have a hard time to look at that printed page and edit. That is why I agree with Stephen King.