The Wood Beyond The World : Forum : Drink and Draw...

Drink and Draw...

15 Years Ago

Mister threadmaster here setting off a new thread. The title makes sense, if you will bear with me.

A good friend of mine, Mathieu, just graduated from college in animation. He told me about that he and his classmates would get together once a week to have what they called "Drink and draw". The idea was to get together for a few hours in a cafe and chat & drink and draw. They would talk and sketch.

He has been trying to get me to join them for a while but I was "hello, I'm a writer. You guys are artists. You sketch and draw. I scribble." He kept at me and today I, on a whim, said: "what the f**k!" And it was kismet.

They decided to shake up the drink and draw. They had one of the regular waiters come up with a theme for the night. He smiled, quite broadly (oh horrors, an adverb). He came back with three envelopes which they had to choose from. Each had a theme. They chose one and the theme of the night was: A Sasquatch having tea with forest animals.

I had gone prepped to work on my massive rewrite of Stone of Blood. But all the young artists about me had to come up with a sketch based on that idea. So I threw caution to the wind and decided let's see if I can write a short story based on this theme.

Up front, here I was with ten to twelve 25ish old people who jumped at the idea with relish. Who did not care that I was a writer. They sketch their ideas with lines painting a picture while I use words to paint my picture. It has been a while I have felt so energized.

The freaky thing was once I got into this, the story started to unfold. Immediately two rednecks came about with their ATVs, Colts and Winchesters ready. I wrote a couple of paragraphs and then the title came to me: Tea and Crumpets. Oh, British and Americans!