It Is What It Is... : Forum : Post Work Here that You Would ..

Post Work Here that You Would like Feedback On...

15 Years Ago

Hi everyone...I thought this would be a good place for us to post work that we haven't posted yet...or that we would like good honest feedback on before we "solify" it...Please feel free....

Perfect Morning...

15 Years Ago

This is my first attempt at penning a short story (really short)  and I've done so to enter it into the 'So Many Lemons' challenge. The idea is to use one or all of the below themes (or words). I've taken upon myself to incorporate all five:

1) Summer
2) Dynamite fishing
3) Pantomime horse
4) Burnt toast
5) David Hasselhoff

I would appreciate any and all constructive critique so that I might bring out the best in this piece. I'm trying to learn how to create imagery with word, but I'm only learning so if you have any suggestions on how I can make it more crisp - please, by all means - be honest.

Without further ado - I present to you - Perfect Morning

PLEASE SCROLL DOWN TO MY 'FIRST REVISION' POST BELOW - CHANGES HAVE BEEN MADE AS PER SUSI'S, JODIE'S AND OTHER SUGGESTIONS...

Her eyelids danced on dappled beams as summer’s sun peered through her bedroom window, while nature’s song welcomed her to a new day. Waking to songbirds’ melodic chatter each morning was something Crystal lovingly embraced. With the window on the far side of the room ajar, sheers covering ceiling to floor windows swayed to the hushed whisper of a gentle breeze as scents of lilac wafted through her master suite.