JotDownYourWords : Forum : Harassing Children

Harassing Children

8 Years Ago

Children are harassed all around the world. What do you think we can do for them as budding writers?

Re: Harassing Children

8 Years Ago

Sadly, bullying is a common problem among children these days.  This form of harassment, be it in person or online can be devastating to a child, from early elementary school, into the teen years and yes, even into adulthood. 

Each person on this earth can support anti-bullying programs in schools as well as the workplace.  If we know of someone being bullied because they are different - be it looks, clothes, financial status, lack of intelligence, etc., we can rally around that person and try to lift their self-esteem by pointing out the good.  We all have flaws why dwell on those?

As a writer, I would love to see a type of workshop for those who are bullied, who have those low self-esteem issues.  Writers can show others how to journal or write poems and short stories that express their feelings.  If they cannot fight back with fists (which I don't encourage!) or words from their mouths, they need an outlet.  They cannot keep their feelings inside because that just causes more problems down the road. 

A workshop on free-writing for ANYONE who is having problems of this nature, or any problem they are fretting over may not solve the problem, but it is a way of expression that could, possibly, calm the mind and spirit.

My opinion, for what it's worth.

Melissa

8 Years Ago

I think writing stories based on your own experiences with bullying, or just about bullying in general, can help too. It lets them know they are not alone, and can give them some courage and peace of mind.

8 Years Ago