Writers Plus+ : Forum : Are you a polyartist?

[reply] [quote]

Are you a polyartist?

17 Years Ago

The term polyartist is now used by some to denote artists who do more
than one art.

I am definitely one....primarily a composer of instrumental music, a poet
who does not use my poetry with my music except on rare ocassions,
and a non-fiction author.

I think it's interesting how we settle down on our combination of arts.

Some are painters/musicians, some poets/actors, some poets/vocalists,
and so on.

--
Robert Pearson
ParaMind Brainstorming Software
Creative Virtue Press/Telical Books/Regenerative Music
[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

17 Years Ago

People do tend to glom onto some unique combinations of art forms.
Me? You may not have seen my mix before.
First and foremost, I guess, I am a classically trained percussionist. At least, that's what my degree is in. But is it where my artist heart lies?
No, in my heart I'm a jazz drummer, and vibraphonist, and bassist.
Then a writer of poems,
then a magician, of all things,
then a writer of stories,
THEN a classical percussionist.
So what am I?
I think all of these have a common thread - music, writing, and magic. I think it's a matter of how you present the work. In all three of those areas, the idea is the important part, and the work is hidden. This is true also of painting and sculpture, but I think to a lesser degree, because the telltale marks of the effort are part of the piece. In music, writing, and magic, especially magic, the best art seems effortless. Your hand is hidden, but the product speaks what you need it to say on its own.
It's all magic, really.
[reply] [quote]

[no subject]

17 Years Ago